Minnesota's National Girls and Women in Sport Day event honors individuals, teams and organizations with awards in seven separate categories. Award recipients are nominated by schools, community organizations, recreation centers, and amateur and professional sports organizations. Details about the specific awards are below.

Special Merit Awards 
For individuals who exemplify the highest levels of commitment to breaking barriers for girls and women in sport. Past Winners

Kwame McDonald Media Award
For members of the media who have supported and promoted girls and women's sports. Past Winners

Wilma Rudolph Award
For girls or women who have faced obstacles/challenges and used courage to overcome those challenges. Past Winners.

Marie Berg Award 
For an outstanding physical education teacher who has expanded sports opportunities for girls and women. Past Winners

Minnesota Milestone Award 
Honors a Minnesota program that has achieved a significant milestone within a respective sport or that shows continued achievement over an extended period of time in girls and/or women’s sports. Past Winners

Minnesota Legacy Award
Honors an individual for their lifetime of significant and important contributions to the advancement of opportunities for girl’s and women’s sports in Minnesota. Past Winners

Breaking Barriers Award (Multiple Awards Annually)
For individuals or organizations that have broken barriers, overcome challenges and/or strive to provide athletic opportunities for girls and women of all races, all ages, and all levels of ability.

To nominate: click here.
About/Contact UsDonateNewsroom