About/Contact UsDonateNewsroom

2018 Minnesota NGWSD Event
"Play Fair, Play IX"

The 2018 Minnesota National Girls and Women in Sports Day award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, Feb. 7, 2018, at the Minnesota History Center from 12-1 p.m. Some of Minnesota’s most inspiring and influential student-athletes, coaches and athletic leaders will be recognized. 


2018 Award Winners
The Marie Berg Award for Excellence in Education
Marguerite "Betsy" Farness, Minnetonka Public Schools

The Wilma Rudolph Award for Courage and Inspiration
Colleen J. Stark-Haws, St. Cloud Tech High School

The Kwame McDonald Media Award
Marshall Radio

Minnesota Legacy Award 
Kathleen Rider, University of Minnesota

Special Merit Awards
Theresa Ganley, University of Minnesota
JoeAnn Jackson-Matthews, Senior Games
Donna K. Palivec, Bemidji State University
Krissy Wendell-Pohl, University of Minnesota

​Breaking Barriers Awards
Carol Agnes, College of Saint Benedict
Nikki Fennern, Saint Mary's University
Cheryl-Leigh Goodman, Minneapolis Police Athletic League
Kris Jones, Wayzata High School
Crissy Makela, Mankato West High School
Jeanne Minder, Senior Games
Dana Moore, College of St. Scholastica
Elvera "Peps" Neuman, Eden Valley-Watkins High School
Carly Norman, Kelliher High School
Ruby Rott, Senior Games
Shannon Swanson, Blue Earth Area
Jacqueline Dekker-Travis, Minneapolis Parks & Recreation Board
Sue Wurl, White Bear Lake High School

2018 Donors
Ann Miller
Augsburg University
Betty Haukebo
Bloomington Convention & Visitors Bureau 
Brenda Savage
Broadway Awards
Carol & Steve Howe-Veenstra
Colleen & Bruce Hentges
College of Saint Benedict
David Orren
Dawn Baudoin
Diane Scovill
Don & Anita Fisher
Donna Palivec
Dorothy McIntyre
Downtowner Woodfire Grill
Edina Realty, Inc.
Hamline University
Jack Toftey
Jane & Mike Tripple
Janna & Mike LaFountaine
Jerry Artz
Joan Paulson
Judy Jungwirth
LuAnn Reif
Lynnette Sjoquist & Sherri Mattson
Macalester College
Margy Hughes
Mary Kuklock Hoppe
Meet Minneapolis
Michael & Joann Andregg
Mike & Teri Durbin
Minneapolis Northwest Convention and Visitors Bureau
Minneapolis Park & Recreation Board
Minnesota Recreation and Park Association
Minnesota Lynx
Minnesota Twins Community Fund
Minnesota State High School League
Minnesota Youth Athletic Services
North Country Region Volleyball
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference
Randy & Mary Luhrs
Robert Imholte
St. Catherine University
Sue & Mark Scharenbroich
Tera Telecky
Tom and Patty Waletzko
Tucker Center for Research on Girls & Women in Sport
University of Minnesota Athletic Department
University of Minnesota Bookstore
University of Minnesota Sports Marketing
USTA Northern
Universal Athletics
University of St. Thomas
Valerie Swanson

Directions to the Minnesota History Center
Click here for directions.

Public Transportation
Bus routes that stop near the History Center include the 16, 21 and 94. Please visit the Metro Transit website for detailed information.

The parking lot at the Minnesota History Center is available to building visitors, members, and the general public when spaces are available. Enter off of Kellogg Boulevard.

Daily parking is $5. Members receive a discounted rate when they show their card. Event rates may apply for special programs or when events occur downtown.

Limited handicapped parking is available free of charge (with permit) at the parking meters when you pull into the History Center drive. Additional handicapped parking is available for a fee in the History Center parking lot.

About/Contact UsDonateNewsroom

Event Archives
2018 Release - click here  Event Page - click here
2017 Release - click here. Event Page - click herePhoto Gallery.
2016 Release - click here. Event Page - click herePhoto Gallery.
2015 Release - click here. Event Page - click herePhoto Gallery.
2014 Release - click here. Event Page - click herePhoto Gallery.
2013 Release - click herePhoto Gallery.
2012 Release - click here.
2011 Release - click here.
2010 Release - click here.