We offer the following types of martial arts:

  • Taekwondo, meaning "the way of the hand and foot," is a general term used to describe Korea's national sport. We train in a traditional Korean forms. We supplement these punches and kicks with self-defense techniques and overall endurance and flexibility training.

  • Karate training takes place in a formal atmosphere with an emphasis on etiquette and self-control as well as physical ability. Training generally is divided into the practice of basic techniques and sparring. While sparring, students stop blows just short of contact so that power is always maintained with control.  

  • Aikido is a Japanese martial art involving a wide range of throws, joint locks, and takedowns. Aikido does not focus on punches and kicks, but rather on how to deflect the impact of punches and kicks. 

Master instructor Matt Simon teaches all classes.  Matt started his martial arts training in 1973. His accomplishments include:

  • 5th Dan Korea Simmudo Association 
  • 5th Dan Korea Taekwondo Chung Do Kwan 
  • 5th Dan Korean Martial Arts Hapkido Federation

Matt opened the studio in 1987 when he left his high school teaching job to lead martial art classes full time.

About/Contact UsDonateNewsroom

The 2014 Minnesota National Girls and Women in Sports Day award ceremony took place on Wednesday, Feb. 5, at the Minnesota State Capitol. Some of Minnesota’s most inspiring and influential student-athletes, coaches and athletic leaders were honored. 

See below for the 2014 event video, link to the photo gallery and event press release.

2014 Photo Gallery (Click Here)

2014 Award Winners

The Marie Berg Award for Excellence in Education  
​Mary Eigner, Rosemount HS

The Girls’ and Women’s Sports in the Media Award 
John Sherman, Sun Newspapers 

The Wilma Rudolph Award for Courage and Inspiration 
​Rose Hollermann, Wheelchair Basketball Athlete

Special Merit Award 
Cathy Peterson, Minneapolis South HS

Special Merit Award 
Carol Visness, Hallock/Kittson HS 

Special Merit Award 
Valarie Rogosheske, St. Cloud St.-St. Benedict-Boston marathon runner

Minnesota Milestone Awards
Concordia University, St. Paul, Volleyball Program
University of Minnesota, Women's Hockey Program 

Breaking Barriers Awards
Carol Alstrom, Tower-Soudan Schools
Paula Devine, East Grand Forks HS
Jo Ellen Batty-George, Fred Wells Tennis and Education Center
Cassandra Meyering, Minneapolis Public Schools
Julie Murphy, St. Cloud Cathedral HS
Vikki Pence, Alden-Conger School
Carol Peterson, Iron Range Volleyball Officials Association
Diane Pettis, Sebeka HS
Rick Ringeisen, Lakeville South HS
Valerie Swanson, Ridgewater College
Donald Timm, Coon Rapids HS 

2014 Event Sponsors:
Augsburg College, Bloomington Convention and Visitor’s Bureau, Broadway Awards, Dawn and Margaret Baudoin, Janet and Norm Carpenter, College of Saint Benedict, Dorothy McIntyre, Edina Realty, Inc., Hamline University, Carol and Steve Howe-Veenstra, Judy Jungwirth, Janna LaFountaine, Lisa Lissimore, Macalester College, Ann M. Miller, Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board, Minnesota Recreation & Park Association, Minneapolis Northwest Convention and Visitors Bureau, Minnesota State High School League, Minnesota Twins, North Country Region Volleyball, Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference, Preferred Design, Velma Teichrow, Town and Country Insurance, University of Minnesota Gopher Sports Marketing, USTA Northern, Mintahoe.

Thank you for your support of this event. This event is entirely funded by donations. To support the event click here.

2013 Event Page

Event Press Releases:
2014 Release - click here.
2013 Release - click here.
2012 Release - click here.
2011 Release - click here.
2010 Release - click here.
About/Contact UsDonateNewsroom