The 2013 Minnesota National Girls and Women in Sports Day award ceremony took place on Wednesday, Feb. 6, at the Minnesota State Capitol Rotunda in St. Paul from noon-1 p.m. Some of Minnesota’s most inspiring and influential student-athletes, coaches and athletic leaders were recognized. The 2013 ceremony honored 20 individuals, receiving awards in five separate categories. See below for event video and link to the photo gallery.

2013 Photo Gallery (Click Here)

The Marie Berg Award for Excellence in Education  
Anna Anderson, Fridley

The Girls’ and Women’s Sports in the Media Award 
Donny Henn, Rochester Post-Bulletin

The Wilma Rudolph Award for Courage and Inspiration 
Amy Gardner

Special Merit Award 
Cheryl Reeve & The Minnesota Lynx

Special Merit Award 
 Marilyn Pearson Florian, Augsburg College

Special Merit Award 
Faith Johnson-Patterson, DeLaSalle High School

Special Merit Award 
Toni St. Pierre, Girls' and Women's Sports Advocate

Breaking Barriers Awards
Dawn Engbretson, Rockford Area Schools
Mary Beth Holmberg, Morris Area Schools
Brenda Holmgren, Elk River School District
Tracy Hrouda, Harding High School
Dr. Jill P. Johnson, Wayzata Public Schools
Wendy Kohler, Alexandria Public Schools
Janna LaFountaine, College of Saint Benedict
Michael Miller, Van Cleve Recreation Center
Ann Miller, Pipestone High School
Mary Beth Mitteco, Totino Grace High School
Jen Rademacher, Robbinsdale Cooper High School
Lynn Swanson, Vadnais Heights Park and Recreation program
Doreen Zierer, Bagley High School

2013 Event Sponsors:
Bloomington Convention & Visitor’s Bureau; Broadway Awards, Robbinsdale; Peggy Brenden; Carol Howe-Veenstra; College of Saint. Benedict; Dorothy McIntyre; Downtowner Woodfire Grill; Hamline University; McJohn Publishing; Town & Country Insurance; Ellen Thompson; Dawn & Margaret Baudoin; Carlson Print Group; North Country Region Volleyball; Jerry Artz; Janet Carpenter; Minnesota Recreation & Parks Association; Minneapolis Parks & Recreation; Minnesota State High School League; Mintahoe; Tom Paulson; St. Catherine University; USTA Northern; Ann Bancroft Foundation; Minnesota RollerGirls; Macalester College.

Event Press Releases:
2013 Release - click here.
2012 Release - click here.
2011 Release - click here.
2010 Release - click here.
About/Contact UsDonateNewsroom